The Sun is a star, just like the stars we see at night. The Sun is much closer to us than the other stars, so it appears much bigger and brighter. The Sun’s visible disk is called the photosphere. Surrounding the photosphere is a thin layer called the chromosphere, which is only seen during a total solar eclipse. The outer atmosphere of the Sun is called the corona.

Eclipses of the sun inspire creative works and cultural rituals. One rock-climbing performance group from Canada performed a piece during the solar eclipse of May 1994.

The basics

Period of revolution (around centre of galaxy): 220 000 000 years
Period of rotation 27 days on average
Diameter: 1 392 000 km
Surface gravity: 27.9 times greater than Earth’s
Composition: 75% hydrogen, 25% helium, with traces of heavier elements
Temperature: 5 500 degrees Celsius at surface; 15 000 000 degrees Celsius at core

Appearance in Earth’s sky

The Sun appears as a blindingly bright disk of light. In fact, the Sun is bright enough to cause serious eye damage, so it’s important never to look at it directly. When the Sun is in the sky, the atmosphere of the Earth scatters the blue component of the Sun’s light, turning the sky blue. This blue sky is bright enough that we cannot see the other stars in the sky. (The stars are still there, however, and can be seen in the daytime during a solar eclipse.)

Telescopic appearance

WARNING! NEVER LOOK DIRECTLY AT THE SUN!
The Sun is so bright that looking at it through a telescope for even an instant can cause permanent blindness. The best way to observe the Sun is by using a pinhole camera or another indirect viewing method. The most obvious features of the solar disk are sunspots. These are cooler regions of the Sun’s surface and are sometimes visible as dark spots. The Sun rotates relatively slowly, once every 27 days.
Canadian Heritage Information Network
Australian Museums & Galleries Online, Australia; Centre of the Universe; Gemini Observatory, Hawaii; Glenbow Museum; The Manitoba Museum; National Research Council Canada; Planétarium de Montréal

© Canadian Heritage Information Network 2003

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le Soleil est une étoile semblable à celles que nous voyons la nuit. Le Soleil est beaucoup plus près de nous que les autres étoiles, c’est pourquoi il nous paraît beaucoup plus gros et brillant. Le disque visible du Soleil s’appelle la photosphère. La photoshère est entourée d’une mince couche, appelée chromosphère, qui n’est visible que pendant une éclipse totale de soleil. La partie extérieure de l’atmosphère du Soleil s’appelle la couronne.

Les éclipses de soleil inspirent des uvres de création et des rituels culturels. Un groupe canadien de performance formé de grimpeurs a joué une pièce pendant l’éclipse solaire de mai 1994.

Données fondamentales

Période de révolution (autour du centre de la Galaxie) : 220 000 000 ans
Période de rotation : en moyenne 27 jours
Diamètre : 1 392 000 km
Gravité à la surface : 27,9 fois celle de la Terre
Composition : 75 % d’hydrogène, 25 % d’hélium et traces d’éléments plus lourds
Température : 5 500 degrés Celsius à la surface, 15 000 000 degrés Celsius au centre

Aspect dans notre ciel

Le Soleil a l’aspect d’un disque de lumière aveuglant. De fait, le Soleil est assez brillant pour causer de graves dommages aux yeux. Il ne faut donc jamais le regarder directement. Lorsque le Soleil brille dans le ciel, l’atmosphère de la Terre diffuse la composante bleue de la lumière solaire, ce qui explique la couleur bleue du ciel. Ce ciel bleu est suffisamment brillant pour que nous ne puissions pas voir les autres étoiles dans le ciel. (Les étoiles sont cependant toujours là, et on peut les voir en plein jour pendant une éclipse solaire.)

Aspect au télescope

ATTENTION! IL NE FAUT JAMAIS REGARDER DIRECTEMENT LE SOLEIL!
Le Soleil est tellement brillant que le regarder au télescope même pendant un instant peut provoquer une cécité permanente. La meilleure manière d’observer le Soleil est d’utiliser une caméra à trou d’épingle ou une autre méthode de vision indirecte. Les caractéristiques les plus visibles du disque solaire sont les taches solaires. Ce sont les régions les plus froides de la surface du soleil, parfois visibles sous forme de taches noires. Le Soleil tourne sur lui-même relativement lentement, à raison d’une rotation tous les 27 jours.
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Le Centre de l’Univers; Gemini Observatory , Hawaii; Glenbow Museum; Le Planétarium de Montréal; Manitoba Museum; Conseil national de recherches Canada; Australian Museums & Galleries Online, Australie

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine 2003

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons