Most astronomers believe that the universe began about 15 billion years ago in a fiery explosion called the Big Bang .

In one instant, all the space, time, matter and energy in the universe came into being as a tiny speck, then started to expand rapidly. As the universe got bigger and cooler, the force of gravity started to take hold.

At the moment of the Big Bang

A fraction of a second after the Big Bang, the infant universe went through a sudden growth spurt, called inflation. In far less than a billionth of a second, the universe grew faster than at any other time in its history. Inflation only lasted an instant, and then the universe slowed down to the rate of expansion we see today.

After one second

As the universe continued to expand and cool, protons, neutrons and electrons condensed out of the background energy, especially in areas where the energy was slightly "denser."

After 100 seconds

Protons and neutrons combined to form helium nuclei. Hydrogen nuclei, which are simply protons, already existed. In less than two minutes, all the sub-atomic elements that exist today had been formed.

After 300 000 years

By this time, the universe had cooled enough for electrons to combine with atomic nuclei, thereby forming atoms. These atoms slowly gravitated into vast strand-shaped clouds, from which the galaxies would soon emerge.

After one billion years

Clouds of hydrogen and helium began "clumping" under the force of gravity. As the clouds grew denser, early galaxies-called protogalaxies-began to take shape. These protogalaxies grew bigger and bigger. Some of them started spinning and flattening out into disk-like shapes. Others stayed more or less spherical as they grew.

Eventually, these primal galaxies gathered enough mass for stars to ignite within them, and for the first time, the universe took on the appearance we see today.
Canadian Heritage Information Network
Australian Museums & Galleries Online, Australia; Centre of the Universe; Gemini Observatory, Hawaii; Glenbow Museum; The Manitoba Museum; National Research Council Canada; Planétarium de Montréal

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La plupart des astronomes croient que l’Univers a commencé il y a environ 15 milliards d’années dans une fantastique explosion appelée le Grand Boum (en anglais Big Bang).

En un instant, l’espace, le temps, la matière et l’énergie de l’Univers furent créés sous forme d’un grain minuscule qui se mit rapidement en expansion. À mesure que l’Univers devenait plus grand et plus froid, la force de gravité commença à prendre le relais.

Au moment du Grand Boum

Une fraction de seconde après le Grand Boum, le jeune Univers connut une poussée soudaine de croissance, appelée l’inflation. Pendant bien moins qu’un milliardième de seconde, l’Univers grossit plus rapidement qu’à toute autre époque de son histoire. Cette inflation ne dura qu’un instant, puis l’expansion de l’Univers ralentit à son rythme actuel.

Au bout d’une seconde

Avec l’expansion de l’Univers, les protons, les neutrons et les électrons commencèrent à se condenser dans l’énergie ambiante, en particulier là où l’énergie était légèrement « plus dense ».

Au bout de 100 secondes

Des protons et des neutrons s’unirent pour former des noyaux d’hélium. Les noyaux d’hydrogène, qui sont de simples protons, existaient déjà. En moins de deux minutes, toutes les particules subatomiques qui existent aujourd’hui étaient déjà formées.

Au bout de 300 000 ans

Au bout de 300 000 ans, l’univers était suffisamment refroidi pour que les électrons s’unissent aux noyaux atomiques pour former des atomes. Sous l’effet de la gravité, ces atomes se rassemblèrent lentement en de vastes nuages en forme de filaments, desquels allaient émerger les galaxies.

Au bout d’un milliard d’années

Les nuages d’hydrogène et d’hélium se mirent à s’alourdir sous la force de gravité. À mesure que ces nuages devenaient plus denses, les futures galaxies - appelées protogalaxies - commencèrent à prendre forme. Ces protogalaxies devinrent de plus en plus grosses. Certaines se mirent à tourner sur elles-mêmes et à s’aplatir pour prendre la forme de disques. D’autres grossissaient en demeurant plus ou moins sphériques.

Ces débuts de galaxies finirent par atteindre une masse suffisante pour que des étoiles s’allument en leur sein et, pour la première fois, l’Univers pris l’aspect qu’on lui connaît aujourd’hui.
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Le Centre de l’Univers; Gemini Observatory , Hawaii; Glenbow Museum; Le Planétarium de Montréal; Manitoba Museum; Conseil national de recherches Canada; Australian Museums & Galleries Online, Australie

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons