Galaxies come in many shapes and sizes. No two are exactly alike, but they do tend to follow certain general forms.

Spiral galaxies

Spiral galaxies are flat with bright and dark arms winding around a central core. Some have bright bars across their centres or a bulge in the middle. The spiral shape comes from a wave of star formation that proceeds along the disk-like a wave of sports fans standing up in the bleachers. Our Milky Way galaxy is spiral shaped.

Elliptical galaxies

Elliptical galaxies are fat balls of old, cool stars. Most formed when spiral galaxies collided and lost their star-forming gas as they merged. Elliptical galaxies take either an ellipsoidal (like a U.S. football) or spherical (like a beach ball) shape.

Irregular galaxies

Some galaxies are neither elliptical nor spiral-these galaxies are called irregular. Irregular galaxies are small and take a wide range of forms. They are often distorted by the violence of star birth or stretched into odd shapes by the gravitational pull of neighbouring galaxies.
Canadian Heritage Information Network
Australian Museums & Galleries Online, Australia; Centre of the Universe; Gemini Observatory, Hawaii; Glenbow Museum; The Manitoba Museum; National Research Council Canada; Planétarium de Montréal

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les galaxies se présentent sous de nombreuses formes et tailles. Elles sont toutes différentes mais elles ont tendance à adopter certaines formes générales.

Les galaxies spirales

Les galaxies spirales sont aplaties, avec des bras brillants et sombres tournant autour d’un noyau central. Certaines ont une barre qui traverse leur centre ou un renflement au milieu. La forme spirale vient d’une onde de formation d’étoiles qui se déplace le long du disque - comme une vague de spectateurs dans les gradins d’un stade. Notre Voie lactée est une galaxie spirale.

Les galaxies elliptiques

Les galaxies elliptiques sont de gros ballons d’étoiles vieilles et froides. La plupart se sont formées par la collision de galaxies spirales qui ont alors perdu leurs bras générateurs d’étoiles. Les galaxies elliptiques ont une forme ellipsoïdale (comme un ballon de football nord-américain) ou sphérique (comme un ballon de plage).

Les galaxies irrégulières

Certaines galaxies ne sont ni elliptiques ni spirales et sont qualifiées d’irrégulières. Ce sont de petites galaxies qui ont des formes très variées. Elles sont souvent distordues par la violence de la formation d’étoiles ou étirées en des formes étranges sous l’effet de l’attraction gravitationnelle exercée par les galaxies voisines.
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Le Centre de l’Univers; Gemini Observatory , Hawaii; Glenbow Museum; Le Planétarium de Montréal; Manitoba Museum; Conseil national de recherches Canada; Australian Museums & Galleries Online, Australie

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons