What holds the galaxies together? Why is the universe still expanding from the Big Bang, and will it ever collapse again in a big crunch? Cosmologists-scientists who study the large-scale structure of the universe-ask these kinds of questions. Here are some answers they’ve come up with and some areas where they’re still in the dark.

The mysteries of gravity

Gravity is everywhere. It keeps our feet planted firmly on the ground, it holds the planets in orbit around the Sun and it keeps the stars and galaxies from flying apart. Basically, gravity holds the universe together. It’s also the most mysterious of nature’s forces.

The expanding universe

In 1929, astronomer Edwin Hubble discovered that other galaxies are racing away from our galaxy, the Milky Way. In fact, the farther away the galaxy is, the faster it’s receding.

Dark matter and the fate of the universe

Only 10 per cent of the universe radiates light, the other 90 per cent is invisible to us. This "dark matter" is vital to our understanding of the fate of the universe. Without enough dark matter to put on the "gravitational brakes," cosmic expansion will continue thinning out the universe forever.
Canadian Heritage Information Network
Australian Museums & Galleries Online, Australia; Centre of the Universe; Gemini Observatory, Hawaii; Glenbow Museum; The Manitoba Museum; National Research Council Canada; Planétarium de Montréal

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Qu’est-ce qui retient les galaxies ensemble? Pourquoi l’expansion de l’Univers se poursuit-elle depuis le Grand Boum? Y aura-t-il un Grand Effondrement (en anglais Big Crunch)? Les cosmologistes - scientifiques qui étudient la structure à grande échelle de l’Univers - se posent ce genre de questions. Voici quelques-unes de leurs réponses et les domaines où ils s’interrogent toujours.

Les mystères de la gravité

La gravité est partout. C’est elle qui nous retient au sol, qui maintient les planètes en orbite autour du Soleil et qui empêche les étoiles et les galaxies de partir dans tous les sens. Fondamentalement, c’est la gravité qui assure la cohésion de l’Univers. C’est aussi la plus mystérieuse des forces de la nature.

L’expansion de l’Univers

En 1929, l’astronome Edwin Hubble découvrit que d’autres galaxies s’éloignent de la nôtre, la Voie lactée. En fait, plus une galaxie est loin, plus elle s’éloigne rapidement de nous.

La matière noire et le sort de l’Univers

Seulement 10 pour cent de l’Univers émet de la lumière, et les 90 autres pour cent nous sont invisibles. Cette « matière noire » est essentielle à notre compréhension du sort de l’Univers. Sans matière noire pour agir comme « frein gravitationnel », l’expansion cosmique continuerait de disperser l’Univers à tout jamais.
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Le Centre de l’Univers; Gemini Observatory , Hawaii; Glenbow Museum; Le Planétarium de Montréal; Manitoba Museum; Conseil national de recherches Canada; Australian Museums & Galleries Online, Australie

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons