Linda Bouchard (1957 - )

French-Canadian composer Linda Bouchard has had a distinguished career as composer and conductor, including a period as the Composer-in-Residence for the National Arts Centre Orchestra. Exquisite Fires was premiered by that orchestra in 1993. The music was inspired by medieval romances, but does not tell a story.

Bouchard writes:

From the start I wanted to compose a Suite of contrasting movements, short movements but whole, each one distinct and extreme in its character. My goal was to play with orchestral colours in the most dramatic way. At the time I was reading Medieval Love Myths – there it was, a source of inspiration that allowed for excesses....These stories were filled with magical, passionate images: knights worthy, brave and fierce, love potions....These stories created the spirit of Exquisite Fires. (From the introduction to the score, unpublished manuscript, Canadian Music Centre collection)
Linda Bouchard (1957 - )

French-Canadian composer Linda Bouchard has had a distinguished career as composer and conductor, including a period as the Composer-in-Residence for the National Arts Centre Orchestra. Exquisite Fires was premiered by that orchestra in 1993. The music was inspired by medieval romances, but does not tell a story.

Bouchard writes:

From the start I wanted to compose a Suite of contrasting movements, short movements but whole, each one distinct and extreme in its character. My goal was to play with orchestral colours in the most dramatic way. At the time I was reading Medieval Love Myths – there it was, a source of inspiration that allowed for excesses....These stories were filled with magical, passionate images: knights worthy, brave and fierce, love potions....These stories created the spirit of Exquisite Fires. (From the introduction to the score, unpublished manuscript, Canadian Music Centre collection)

© 2010, National Arts Centre. All Rights Reserved.

Portait of composer Linda Bouchard

French-Canadian composer Linda Bouchard has had a distinguished career as composer and conductor, including a period as the Composer-in-Residence for the National Arts Centre Orchestra. Her composition, Exquisite Fires, was composed while she was reading Medieval Love Myths. Although the composition does not tell a story, she drew inspiration from the "magical, passionate images" that she found within.

Daniel Hayes

© Daniel Hayes


Oskar Morawetz (1917-2007)

Morawetz (1917-2007) was born in what is now the Czech Republic and came to Canada in 1941. He had a distinguished career as a composer and died in Toronto. This short piece is one of the most popular Canadian orchestral compositions, and was first performed in 1957. The music does not follow the storyline of a particular fairy tale but instead evokes characteristics typical of any fairy tale. Morawetz describes the exposition as containing three types of themes: elfin, mysterious and gay/dance-like. These themes evolve through the use of orchestral colours, different rhythmic combinations, and by being combined with each other. The music becomes menacing, then very quiet and gentle. Finally the coda builds to a joyful ending.
Oskar Morawetz (1917-2007)

Morawetz (1917-2007) was born in what is now the Czech Republic and came to Canada in 1941. He had a distinguished career as a composer and died in Toronto. This short piece is one of the most popular Canadian orchestral compositions, and was first performed in 1957. The music does not follow the storyline of a particular fairy tale but instead evokes characteristics typical of any fairy tale. Morawetz describes the exposition as containing three types of themes: elfin, mysterious and gay/dance-like. These themes evolve through the use of orchestral colours, different rhythmic combinations, and by being combined with each other. The music becomes menacing, then very quiet and gentle. Finally the coda builds to a joyful ending.

© 2010, National Arts Centre. All Rights Reserved.

Portrait of composer Oskar Morawetz

Morawetz (1917-2007) was born in what is now the Czech Republic and came to Canada in 1941. He had a distinguished career as a composer and died in Toronto. His Overture to a Fairy Tale is not based on one tale in particular but instead evokes characteristics typical of any fairy tale. It is considered to be one of the most popular Canadian orchestral compositions.

Arnold Matthews

© Arnold Matthews


Gary Kulesha (1954 - )

Kulesha is a distinguished Canadian composer, conductor and pianist who has been associated with most of the country’s major orchestras, including the National Arts Centre Orchestra where he was the lead composer for the Young Composer Programme in 2009.

Of the Boughs of Music, Kulesha writes:

The title is taken from a line from The Waves (1931) by Virginia Woolf. For me, this is the most beautiful novel in the English language. It is a set of interior monologues from six characters, following them through their lives from birth to death. The complete line is given to Rhoda, and comes as the characters are entering their post-middle-age years: ‘I parted the boughs of music and saw the house we have made …’ There is an autumnal strength in this, a suggestion of both the sadness of time passing and the satisfaction of having lived a productive life, which speaks to me very clearly as I enter my 50s. It is serendipitous that the line specifically refers to music.
Gary Kulesha (1954 - )

Kulesha is a distinguished Canadian composer, conductor and pianist who has been associated with most of the country’s major orchestras, including the National Arts Centre Orchestra where he was the lead composer for the Young Composer Programme in 2009.

Of the Boughs of Music, Kulesha writes:

The title is taken from a line from The Waves (1931) by Virginia Woolf. For me, this is the most beautiful novel in the English language. It is a set of interior monologues from six characters, following them through their lives from birth to death. The complete line is given to Rhoda, and comes as the characters are entering their post-middle-age years: ‘I parted the boughs of music and saw the house we have made …’ There is an autumnal strength in this, a suggestion of both the sadness of time passing and the satisfaction of having lived a productive life, which speaks to me very clearly as I enter my 50s. It is serendipitous that the line specifically refers to music.

© 2010, National Arts Centre. All Rights Reserved.

Portrait of composer Gary Kulesha

Gary Kulesha is a distinguished Canadian composer, conductor and pianist who has been associated with most of the country's major orchestras, including the National Arts Centre Orchestra where he was lead composer for the Young Composer Programme in 2009. The title of his composition, The Boughs of Music, was taken from a line from The Waves by Virginia Woolf, which he considers to be the most beautiful novel in the English language.

kulesha.com

© kulesha.com


Violet Archer (1913-2000)

Violet Archer, a prolific and very successful Canadian composer, was born in Montréal and died in Ottawa. This twelve-minute piece was written in 1964 for the Edmonton Symphony in celebration of the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s birth. Archer was inspired by the fairyland world of A Midsummer Night’s Dream as so many other composers have been. The music has two sections – a fast prelude followed by a slow incantation section. The two parts share some melodic and harmonic ideas, tying them together thematically. Archer specifically directed the listeners to Shakespeare’s three fairy poems reproduced here as the source of her inspiration.
Violet Archer (1913-2000)

Violet Archer, a prolific and very successful Canadian composer, was born in Montréal and died in Ottawa. This twelve-minute piece was written in 1964 for the Edmonton Symphony in celebration of the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s birth. Archer was inspired by the fairyland world of A Midsummer Night’s Dream as so many other composers have been. The music has two sections – a fast prelude followed by a slow incantation section. The two parts share some melodic and harmonic ideas, tying them together thematically. Archer specifically directed the listeners to Shakespeare’s three fairy poems reproduced here as the source of her inspiration.

© 2010, National Arts Centre. All Rights Reserved.

Portrait of composer Violet Archer

Violet Archer, a prolific and very successful Canadian composer, was born in Montréal and died in Ottawa. Her twelve- minute piece Prelude Incantation was inspired by the fairy land world of Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream, and was written in celebration of the famous playwright's birth for the Edmonton Symphony.

Canadian Music Centre

© Canadian Music Centre


Robert Turner (1920 - )

Robert Turner was born in Montréal and was a professor of composition at the University of Manitoba. His works have been performed by every major Canadian orchestra. In this composition for viola, reciter, and orchestra seven poems by Canadian poets are spoken rather than sung over the music. The poets include Barry McKinnon, Anne Marriott, George Johnston, Anne Wilkinson, Raymond Souster and Earle Birney, whose contribution is reproduced here, while the poems move thematically in a full circle from winter to summer. The final setting of “On the Rouge” by Raymond Souster leaves the listener full of warmth and nostalgia.
Robert Turner (1920 - )

Robert Turner was born in Montréal and was a professor of composition at the University of Manitoba. His works have been performed by every major Canadian orchestra. In this composition for viola, reciter, and orchestra seven poems by Canadian poets are spoken rather than sung over the music. The poets include Barry McKinnon, Anne Marriott, George Johnston, Anne Wilkinson, Raymond Souster and Earle Birney, whose contribution is reproduced here, while the poems move thematically in a full circle from winter to summer. The final setting of “On the Rouge” by Raymond Souster leaves the listener full of warmth and nostalgia.

© 2010, National Arts Centre. All Rights Reserved.

Portrait of composer Robert Turner

Robert Turner was born in Montréal and was a professor of composition at the University of Manitoba. His works have been performed by every major orchestra across Canada. In this composition for viola, reciter, and orchestra seven poems by Canadian poets are spoken rather than sung over the music.

Manitobamusic.com

© Manitobamusic.com


Learning Objectives

From Words to Music is designed for students and educators to meet the following objectives.
  • Gain an understanding of how music can be used to capture the spirit of a story, heighten the telling of a story or to inspire the mood of a musical composition.
  • Consider why literature is an important source of inspiration to composers.
  • Create compositions in response to a literary stimulus.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Linda Bouchard (1957 - )

La musicienne québécoise Linda Bouchard mène une grande carrière de compositrice et chef d'orchestre. Elle a notamment été compositrice en résidence à l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. C’est cet orchestre qui a créé son oeuvre intitulée Exquisite Fires en 1993. Il s'agit d'une musique non narrative inspirée par les romans d’amour du Moyen Âge.

Bouchard écrit :

Dès le départ, je voulais composer une suite constituée de mouvements contrastants, courts mais complets et possédant chacun un caractère distinct et extrême dans son expression. Un de mes objectifs était de jouer dramatiquement avec les couleurs orchestrales. Au moment de la conception de cette œuvre j'étais plongée dans la lecture d’ouvrages sur la mythologie médiévale de l’amour, et c'est là que je trouvai l'inspiration qui me permit d'exprimer ces excès.
Pour en lire plus
Linda Bouchard (1957 - )

La musicienne québécoise Linda Bouchard mène une grande carrière de compositrice et chef d'orchestre. Elle a notamment été compositrice en résidence à l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. C’est cet orchestre qui a créé son oeuvre intitulée Exquisite Fires en 1993. Il s'agit d'une musique non narrative inspirée par les romans d’amour du Moyen Âge.

Bouchard écrit :

Dès le départ, je voulais composer une suite constituée de mouvements contrastants, courts mais complets et possédant chacun un caractère distinct et extrême dans son expression. Un de mes objectifs était de jouer dramatiquement avec les couleurs orchestrales. Au moment de la conception de cette œuvre j'étais plongée dans la lecture d’ouvrages sur la mythologie médiévale de l’amour, et c'est là que je trouvai l'inspiration qui me permit d'exprimer ces excès.

[...] Ces histoires médiévales débordaient de magie et d'images passionnées : chevaliers nobles, braves et courageux, philtres d'amour [...] Ces histoires ont façonné l'esprit d’Exquisite Fires. (Tiré de l’introduction de la partition, manuscrit inédit, collection du Centre de musique canadienne)

© 2010, Centre national des Arts. Tous droits réservés.

Portrait de la compositrice Linda Bouchard

La compositrice canadienne-française Linda Bouchard mène une brillante carrière de compositrice et de chef d’orchestre; elle a notamment œuvré comme compositrice résidente auprès de l’orchestre du Centre national des Arts. Elle a écrit Exquisite Fires alors qu’elle était pongée dans la lecture de Medieval Love Myths. Bien que cette composition soit dépourvue de trame narrative, elle est inspirée de la «magie» et des «images passionnées» que la compositrice a glanées dans ces récits médiévaux.

Daniel Hayes

© Daniel Hayes


Morawetz (1917-2007) était né dans un pays qui s'appelle aujourd'hui la République tchèque et il avait émigré au Canada en 1941. Il est mort à Toronto après avoir fait une brillante carrière de compositeur. Cette pièce brève créée en 1957 est une des compositions orchestrales canadiennes les plus connues. La musique ne suit pas la narration d'un conte de fées particulier, mais évoque plutôt certaines caractéristiques que l'on retrouve dans tous les contes de fées. Morawetz explique que l'exposition contient trois types de motifs : certains ont la légèreté des elfes, d'autres sont mystérieux, et d'autres enfin sont gais et dansants. Ces thèmes évoluent selon les couleurs orchestrales, les différentes combinaisons rythmiques et sont parfois combinés les uns aux autres. La musique devient menaçante, puis très calme et douce. Enfin, la coda apporte une fin joyeuse.
Morawetz (1917-2007) était né dans un pays qui s'appelle aujourd'hui la République tchèque et il avait émigré au Canada en 1941. Il est mort à Toronto après avoir fait une brillante carrière de compositeur. Cette pièce brève créée en 1957 est une des compositions orchestrales canadiennes les plus connues. La musique ne suit pas la narration d'un conte de fées particulier, mais évoque plutôt certaines caractéristiques que l'on retrouve dans tous les contes de fées. Morawetz explique que l'exposition contient trois types de motifs : certains ont la légèreté des elfes, d'autres sont mystérieux, et d'autres enfin sont gais et dansants. Ces thèmes évoluent selon les couleurs orchestrales, les différentes combinaisons rythmiques et sont parfois combinés les uns aux autres. La musique devient menaçante, puis très calme et douce. Enfin, la coda apporte une fin joyeuse.

© 2010, Centre national des Arts. Tous droits réservés.

Portrait du compositeur Oskar Morawetz

Né dans ce qui est aujourd'hui la République tchèque, Oskar Morawetz (1917-2007) est venu s'établir au Canada en 1941. Il y a mené une brillante carrière de compositeur et s'est éteint à Toronto. Son Overture to a Fairy Tale n'est pas basé sur un conte en particulier, mais évoque plutôt des caractéristiques communes à la plupart des contes de ce genre. Cette ouverture est généralement reconnue comme l'une des oeuvres pour orchestre les plus populaires de la musique canadienne.

Arnold Matthews

© Arnold Matthews


Gary Kulesha (1954 - )

Kulesha est un éminent compositeur, chef d'orchestre et pianiste canadien qui a collaboré avec la plupart des grands orchestres du pays, notamment avec l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. En 2009, il a exercé les fonctions de compositeur- animateur du Programme des jeunes compositeurs.

Kulesha écrit au sujet de The Boughs of Music :

Le titre provient d’un roman de Virginia Woolf intitulé The Waves (1931). Il s’agit selon moi du plus beau roman de langue anglaise. Le roman est une série de monologues intérieurs qui permettent de suivre six personnages tout au long de leur vie, de la naissance jusqu’à la mort. Le texte qui m’a inspiré le titre est prononcé par Rhoda, à un moment où les personnages quittent l’âge moyen pour aborder une autre étape de la vie : « J’ai écarté les branches de la musique et j’ai vu la maison que nous avons construite&h Pour en lire plus
Gary Kulesha (1954 - )

Kulesha est un éminent compositeur, chef d'orchestre et pianiste canadien qui a collaboré avec la plupart des grands orchestres du pays, notamment avec l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. En 2009, il a exercé les fonctions de compositeur- animateur du Programme des jeunes compositeurs.

Kulesha écrit au sujet de The Boughs of Music :

Le titre provient d’un roman de Virginia Woolf intitulé The Waves (1931). Il s’agit selon moi du plus beau roman de langue anglaise. Le roman est une série de monologues intérieurs qui permettent de suivre six personnages tout au long de leur vie, de la naissance jusqu’à la mort. Le texte qui m’a inspiré le titre est prononcé par Rhoda, à un moment où les personnages quittent l’âge moyen pour aborder une autre étape de la vie : « J’ai écarté les branches de la musique et j’ai vu la maison que nous avons construite… ». Il y a dans cette phrase une énergie automnale qui suggère à la fois la tristesse du temps qui passe et la satisfaction d’avoir vécu une vie productive. C’est très parlant pour quelqu’un comme moi qui aborde actuellement la cinquantaine. Un heureux hasard a fait que cette phrase se rapporte expressément à la musique.

© 2010, Centre national des Arts. Tous droits réservés.

Portrait du compositeur Gary Kulesha

L'illustre compositeur, chef d'orchestre et pianiste canadien Gary Kulesha a collaboré avec la plupart des orchestres de premier plan du pays, y compris avec l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts pour lequel il a dirigé le Programme des compositeurs en 2009. Le titre de cette composition, The Boughs of Music, est emprunté à The Waves de Virginia Wolf, un roman qu'il considère comme le plus beau de la langue anglaise.

kulesha.com

© kulesha.com


Violet Archer (1913-2000)

Violet Archer, compositrice canadienne prolifique et couronnée de succès, est née à Montréal et morte à Ottawa. C’est afin de célébrer le 400e anniversaire de la naissance de Shakespeare, en 1964, que Violet Archer écrivit cette pièce de 12 minutes pour l'Orchestre symphonique d’Edmonton. Le merveilleux monde féerique du Songe d’une nuit d'été a inspiré Archer et de nombreux autres compositeurs. Cette composition est en deux parties – un prélude rapide suivi d'une lente incantation. Les deux sections partagent certaines idées mélodiques et harmoniques qui sont reliées entre elles sur le plan thématique. Violet Archer précise à l'intention des auditeurs quels sont les trois poèmes de Shakespeare qui lui ont servi d'inspiration. Ils sont reproduits ici.
Violet Archer (1913-2000)

Violet Archer, compositrice canadienne prolifique et couronnée de succès, est née à Montréal et morte à Ottawa. C’est afin de célébrer le 400e anniversaire de la naissance de Shakespeare, en 1964, que Violet Archer écrivit cette pièce de 12 minutes pour l'Orchestre symphonique d’Edmonton. Le merveilleux monde féerique du Songe d’une nuit d'été a inspiré Archer et de nombreux autres compositeurs. Cette composition est en deux parties – un prélude rapide suivi d'une lente incantation. Les deux sections partagent certaines idées mélodiques et harmoniques qui sont reliées entre elles sur le plan thématique. Violet Archer précise à l'intention des auditeurs quels sont les trois poèmes de Shakespeare qui lui ont servi d'inspiration. Ils sont reproduits ici.

© 2010, Centre national des Arts. Tous droits réservés.

Portrait de la compositrice Violet Archer

La très féconde et renommée compositrice canadienne Violet Archer est née à Montréal et s’est éteinte à Ottawa. Sa pièce de vingt minutes intitulée Prelude-Incantation lui a été inspirée par l’univers féerique du Songe d’une nuit d’été de Shakespeare; elle l’a écrite pour l’Orchestre symphonique d’Edmonton, en l’honneur du 400e anniversaire de naissance du Barde immortel.

Centre de musique canadienne

© Centre de musique canadienne


Robert Turner (1920 - )

Robert Turner est né à Montréal et a été professeur de composition à l'Université du Manitoba. Ses œuvres ont été jouées par tous les grands orchestres canadiens. Dans cette composition pour alto, récitant et orchestre, sept poèmes d'auteurs canadiens-anglais sont lus sur la musique, plutôt que chantés. Les auteurs des poèmes sont Barry McKinnon, Anne Marriott, George Johnston, Anne Wilkinson, Raymond Souster et Earle Birney, dont le texte est reproduit ici. Les poèmes sont agencés par thème selon un cycle allant de l'hiver à l’été. Le dernier numéro consacré au poème « On the Rouge » de Raymond Souster laisse l'auditeur sur une note chaleureuse et nostalgique.
Robert Turner (1920 - )

Robert Turner est né à Montréal et a été professeur de composition à l'Université du Manitoba. Ses œuvres ont été jouées par tous les grands orchestres canadiens. Dans cette composition pour alto, récitant et orchestre, sept poèmes d'auteurs canadiens-anglais sont lus sur la musique, plutôt que chantés. Les auteurs des poèmes sont Barry McKinnon, Anne Marriott, George Johnston, Anne Wilkinson, Raymond Souster et Earle Birney, dont le texte est reproduit ici. Les poèmes sont agencés par thème selon un cycle allant de l'hiver à l’été. Le dernier numéro consacré au poème « On the Rouge » de Raymond Souster laisse l'auditeur sur une note chaleureuse et nostalgique.

© 2010, Centre national des Arts. Tous droits réservés.

Portrait du compositeur Robert Turner

Natif de Montréal, Robert Turner a été professeur de composition à l’Université du Manitoba. Ses œuvres ont été jouées par tous les orchestres de premier plan du Canada. Dans cette composition pour alto, récitant et orchestre, sept poèmes d’autant de poètes canadiens sont déclamés plutôt que chantés, sur un accompagnement musical.

Manitobamusic.com

© Manitobamusic.com


Objectifs d'apprentissage

"Du texte à la musique" est un module d’apprentissage conçu de manière à permettre aux élèves et aux enseignants d’atteindre les objectifs suivants :
  • Comprendre comment la musique peut servir à mieux comprendre l’esprit d’une histoire, à renforcer la narration ou à inspirer le climat d’une composition musicale.
  • Examiner pourquoi la littérature est une source importante d’inspiration pour les compositeurs.
  • Créer des compositions à partir d’une source littéraire.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons