Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Sawmills, Vancouver

Sawmills, Vancouver, c.1912
oil on canvas
36.0 x 45.5 cm
The McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Gift of Dr. and Mrs. Max Stern, Dominion Gallery, Montreal

Totem Poles, Kitseukla

Totem Poles, Kitseukla, 1912
oil on canvas
126.8 x 98.4 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Founders' Fund

Cumshewa

Cumshewa, 1912
watercolour and graphite on wove paper, mounted on cardboard
52.0 x 75.5 cm
National Gallery of Canada, Purchased 1953

Tanoo

Tanoo, Q.C.I., 1913
oil on canvas
110.5 x 170.8 cm
British Columbia Archives

Indian House Interior with Totems

Indian House Interior with Totems, 1912-1913
oil on canvas
89.6 x 130.6 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Early Totems (1911-1913)

After leaving France confident that her interest in aboriginal culture was appropriate to the principles of the "New Art," Carr was eager to reinvent her existing material using her new French style. Soon after returning to Victoria, Carr again moved to Vancouver. She opened a studio at 1465 West Broadway, where she held an exhibition of her French canvases and watercolours on March 25, 1912. Viewers, ignorant of the radical art being produced in Europe, were shocked by the bold palette and lack of detail in her work. Carr had learned in France that negative reception was to be expected and, for the best and most dedicated artists, was actually a badge of honour. At least initially, she was not discouraged: with this exhibition she had introduced Fauvism to conservative Vancouver society.

In spite of all the insult and scorn shown to my new work I was not ashamed of it. It was neither monstrous, disgusting nor indecent; it had brighter, cleaner colour, simpler form, more intensity. What would Westerners have said of the things exhibited in Paris — nudes, monstrosities, a striving after the extraordinary, the bizarre, to arrest attention. Why should simplification to express depth, breadth and volume appear to the West as indecent, as nakedness? People did not want to see beneath surfaces. The West was ultraconservative. They had transported their ideas at the time of their migration, a generation or two back. They forgot that England, even conservative England, had crept forward since then; but these Western settlers had firmly adhered to their old, old, out-worn methods and, seeing beloved England as it had been, they held to their old ideals... Nevertheless, I was glad I had been to France. More than ever I was convinced that the old way of seeing was inadequate to express this big country of ours, her depth, her height, her unbounded wideness, silences too strong to be broken — nor could ten million cameras, through their mechanical boxes, ever show real Canada. It had to be sensed, passed through live minds, sensed and loved.

– "Growing Pains" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 437.

Carr continued to paint the Vancouver landscape using her new technique, with its simplification, indifference to detail and bold, visible brushstrokes. In works such as Vancouver Street (c.1912-13) and Sawmills, Vancouver (c.1912), produced shortly after her return from France, Carr applied her painterly French style to local Vancouver cityscapes. The result was quite successful. Carr infused these scenes with the light and energy that characterized her work from France, and they depict her own interpretation of what she saw. In Vancouver Street especially, her vibrant orange and green brushstrokes create form, and the separation between the houses and the streets is deliberately obscure.

Her new approach seemed appropriate for capturing Vancouver street scenes, but her First Nations subjects proved to be a more formidable challenge. In these works her artistic intent clashed with her documentary impulse. Carr began to struggle to reconcile her painterly approach, with its disregard for detail, with her desire to record faithfully the "disappearing" culture of Aboriginal communities.

My object in making this collection of totem pole pictures has been to depict these wonderful relics of a passing people in their own original setting: the identical spots where they were carved and placed by the Indians in honour of their chiefs. These poles are fast becoming extinct. Each year sees some of their number fall, rotted with age; others bought and carried off to museums in various parts of the world; others, alas, burned down for firewood. In some instances the Indians are becoming ashamed of them, fearing that the white people whom they are anxious to resemble will regard them as paganism and will laugh at them, and they are threatening to burn them down.

– "Lecture on Totems" in Opposite Contraries, p. 177.

In July 1912, Carr embarked on a six-week sketching trip to Alert Bay ('Yalis), along the Skeena River and to the Queen Charlotte Islands (Haida Gwaii). On this trip she made sketches and watercolours that she would use later to create canvases in her studio. Appalled by how badly the carvings had deteriorated since her last visit, Carr became convinced that her new artistic style could not be applied to illustrations of the poles. She did not entirely revert to the documentary impulse, but she reined in her creative expressiveness to represent the poles as accurately as possible. She began once again to paint what she saw in front of her, rather than exploring the significance and expressive power of the totems themselves.

In each of the communities she visited, Carr sketched village scenes that showed many poles while creating studies of individual totems that captured her interest. Totem Poles, Kitseukla (1912) is one such village scene: the lessons that Carr learned in France are discernible in her use of black outlines to give shape to the totemic forms and her gradations in tone. In this work, Carr differentiates the sky from the poles and houses by the application of paint, creating movement with short, painterly brushstrokes. Committed to rendering the poles as accurately as possible, Carr worked in a more expressive style to capture the sky and the foliage, while tending toward realism in her depiction of the poles and houses. Cumshewa (1912) is another good example of her watercolour technique from this period. Her handling of the landscape demonstrates her new, sophisticated approach, but she takes more care to illustrate the particulars of the poles.

Places are so difficult to get at, accommodation always meager, boats very erratic. You must therefore come quickly to your conclusions, select your objects and your view of objects. Time is so precious you dare not stop to rest up or think how tired you are. In places where there is much walking you must shoulder a very heavy pack. The elements always have to be buffeted. Wind, showers, hot sun, incoming tides. Indians satisfied as to why you've come, etc. You must be absolutely honest and true in the depicting of a totem, for meaning is attached to every line; you must be most particular about detail and proportion. I never use the camera nor work from photos; every pole in my collection has been studied from its actual reality in its own original setting and I have, as you might term it, been personally acquainted with every pole shown here.

– "Lecture on Totems" in Opposite Contraries, pp. 194-195.

In her studio she expanded on these field sketches, painting canvases — most of them small — that focus on a single pole. The few surviving notable works from this period, such as Tanoo, Q.C.I. (1913) and Indian House Interior with Totems (c.1912-13), demonstrate a greater ambition. In Tanoo, Carr shows her commitment to elements of her Post-Impressionist style, including short, painterly brushstrokes and a Fauvist colour scheme. She also begins to manipulate the location of the totemic structure within the picture frame for dramatic effect, bringing it closer to the front or sides, or cropping it. Although she uses a thick, black outline to give shape to the totemic forms, the poles are noticeable for their detail. These are interesting transitional works in which Carr's attempt to reconcile her documentary impulse with her artistic ambitions is conspicuous.

In 1913, Carr rented Drummond Hall in Vancouver and held a public exhibition of almost 200 of her new First Nations paintings. The lack of support for her work, both financial and critical, forced her to close her Vancouver studio. She moved back to Victoria, where she planned to build a small apartment house with her share of the family's estate. Her feelings of rejection were compounded by the provincial government's refusal both to finance future trips to coastal villages and to purchase her collection of works to date for their anthropological value. Her use of a Fauve colour palette and manipulation of depth and perspective led the consulting anthropologist to conclude that her work was not an accurate depiction of coast villages.1

Carr's totemic studies from this period were far superior in quality to those she produced before her education in France, yet she still failed to capture the power of the poles and the complexity of the carved animal and human forms. Even her best work from this period appears flat and static compared to her later canvases. She would wait nearly seventeen years before returning to this subject matter and would then finally possess the confidence, the skill and the intent to create bold, powerful paintings.

1 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography, (Toronto: Stoddart, 1994), p. 112.

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Sawmills, Vancouver

Sawmills, Vancouver, v.1912
huile sur toile
36,0 x 45,5 cm
Collection McMichael d'art canadien, Don de M. et Mme Max Stern, Galerie Dominion, Montréal

Totem Poles, Kitseukla

Totem Poles, Kitseukla, 1912
huile sur toile
126,8 x 98,4 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds des fondateurs

Cumshewa

Cumshewa, 1912
aquarelle et graphite sur papier vélin monté sur carton
52,0 x 75,5 cm
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Acheté en 1953

Tanoo, Q.C.I.

Tanoo, Q.C.I., 1913
huile sur toile
110,5 x 170,8
British Columbia Archives

Indian House Interior with Totems

Indian House Interior with Totems, 1912-1913
huile sur toile
89,6 x 130,6 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Premiers totems (1911-1913)

À son retour de France, persuadée que son intérêt pour la culture autochtone s'accorde aux principes de l'«art nouveau», Emily Carr est impatiente de réinventer son matériel dans son nouveau style français. Sitôt arrivée à Victoria, elle redéménage à Vancouver, où elle ouvre un atelier au 1465 West Broadway. Elle y expose ses toiles et ses aquarelles françaises le 25 mars 1912, mais la palette audacieuse et l'abandon du détail choquent les visiteurs, peu au fait de la révolution artistique en cours sur le Vieux continent. Son séjour en France l'a prévenue contre un accueil négatif; pour les artistes les meilleurs et les plus engagés, ce peut même être une distinction. Elle n'est donc pas découragée, à tout le moins au début: elle vient de faire découvrir le fauvisme à la société conservatrice de Vancouver.

Malgré toutes les insultes et le dédain manifestés à l'égard de mon œuvre nouvelle, je n'en avais pas du tout honte. Elle n'était ni monstrueuse, ni dégoûtante, ni indécente; elle avait des couleurs plus vives, plus nettes, et était d'une forme plus simple, plus intense. Qu'auraient dit le gens de L'Ouest devant certaines œuvres exposées à Paris — nus, monstruosités, le besoin d'être extraordinaire, bizarre, de se faire remarquer? Pourquoi le désir de simplifier dans le but d'exprimer la profondeur, la largeur et le volume des choses apparaissait-il à nos gens de l'Ouest comme étant de l'indécence, de la nudité? Les gens refusaient de voir ce qu'il y avait sous la surface. L'Ouest était ultra-conservateur. Ils avaient transporté leurs idées en émigrant, il y avait une ou deux générations. Ils oubliaient que l'Angleterre, même l'Angleterre conservatrice, avait évolué à pas de loup. Ces pionniers de l'Ouest avaient tenu, contre vents et marées, à leurs anciennes méthodes, devenues désuètes, et ne voyaient l'Angleterre que telle qu'ils l'avaient laissée, conservant leurs vieux idéaux...

Je me félicitais néanmoins d'être allée en France. J'étais, en effet, plus que jamais convaincue que l'ancienne façon de voir ne pouvait exprimer efficacement cet immense pays qu'est le nôtre, sa profondeur, sa stature, sa largeur illimité, et son silence trop fort pour être rompu. Pas plus que dix millions d'appareilsphoto ne pourraient jamais, au moyen de leurs boîtes mécaniques, faire voir le vrai Canada. Il fallait le sentir, le passer au tamis de cerveaux vivants, et l'aimer.

Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre, pp. 248-249.

Carr continue à peindre les paysages vancouvérois selon sa nouvelle technique: simplification, indifférence au détail, touche audacieuse et apparente. Les œuvres Vancouver Street (v.1912-13) et Sawmills, Vancouver (v.1912), produites peu après son retour de France, en démontrent le succès pour des scènes urbaines de Vancouver. Carr y infuse la lumière et l'énergie caractéristiques de son travail français et y va de ses propres interprétations. Dans Vancouver Street particulièrement, la forme tient à ses touches vibrantes d'orange et de vert tandis que la distinction entre les maisons et les rues est délibérément brouillée.

La nouvelle approche de Carr semble appropriée à la captation des scènes de rue vancouvéroises, mais les sujets propres aux Premières nations s'avèrent un défi autrement plus ardu. Dans ces travaux, son projet artistique se heurte à sa motivation documentaire. Carr entame un combat pour réconcilier son approche artistique, qui fait fi des détails, et son souhait de rendre fidèlement compte de la culture «en voie de disparition» des communautés autochtones.

Mon but, en produisant cette série de mâts totémiques, était d'illustrer ces reliques extraordinaires issues d'un peuple menacé, et ce dans leur environnement d'origine, c'est-à-dire au lieu précis où ils ont été sculptés et placés par les Indiens en l'honneur de leurs chefs. Les mâts disparaissent rapidement. Chaque année voit un certain nombre d'entre eux tomber, pourris par l'âge; d'autres sont achetés et emmenés à des musées dans diverses parties du monde; d'autres, malheureusement, servent de bois à brûler. Les Indiens commencent à en avoir honte, craignant que les Blancs, à qui ils veulent ressembler, y voient des manifestations de paganisme et les ridiculisent, alors ils les brûlent.

– «Lecture on Totems» Opposite Contraries, p. 177.

En juillet 1912, Carr embarque pour un voyage de peinture sur le motif. En six semaines, elle se rendra à Alert Bay ('Yalis), le long de la rivière Skeena, et aux îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte (Haida Gwaii). Elle produit des croquis et des aquarelles dont elle fera plus tard des toiles en atelier. Horrifiée par l'importante détérioration des sculptures depuis sa dernière visite, Carr se convainc que son nouveau style ne peut être utilisé pour représenter les mâts. Sans revenir entièrement à son impulsion documentaire, elle freine son expression créatrice pour reproduire les mâts le plus fidèlement possible. Elle recommence à peindre précisément ce qu'elle voit plutôt que d'exploiter la signification et le pouvoir expressif intrinsèque des totems.

Dans chaque communauté visitée, Carr croque des scènes de village ou figurent plusieurs mâts, tout en réalisant des études individuelles des totems qui l'intéressent particulièrement. Totem Poles, Kitseukla (1912) est une de ces scènes: les leçons apprises en France transparaissent dans la gradation des tons et dans les lignes de contour noires qui donnent forme aux totems. Carr distingue le ciel des mâts et des maisons par une touche courte et picturale, empreinte de mouvement. Déterminée à rendre les mâts le plus exactement possible, elle travaille le ciel et le feuillage dans un style plus expressif que celui, plus réaliste, utilisé pour les mâts et les maisons. Un autre bon exemple de sa technique à l'aquarelle de cette époque est Cumshewa (1912). Sa maîtrise du paysage révèle une approche nouvelle et sophistiquée, mais elle prend un plus grand soin à illustrer les détails des mâts.

Il est si difficile de se rendre sur les lieux, l'hébergement est toujours minimal, l'horaire des bateaux très irrégulier. Il faut donc se décider rapidement, sélectionner le sujet et le point de vue. Le temps est si précieux qu'on n'ose pas s'arrêter pour se reposer ou s'attarder à son immense fatigue. Aux endroits exigeant une longue marche, il faut porter un sac à dos très lourd. Il faut toujours lutter contre les éléments: le vent, les averses, le soleil brûlant, les marées montantes. Il faut rassurer les Indiens sur ce qui vous amène, etc. Il faut être absolument honnête et précise dans la représentation d'un totem, parce que chaque ligne a un sens; il faut être particulièrement précise sur les détails et les proportions. Je n'utilise jamais de caméra et ne travaille jamais à partir de photos; chaque mât de ma collection a été étudié tel quel dans son environnement d'origine et j'ai fait personnellement connaissance, comme vous diriez sans doute, avec chaque mât dépeint ici

– «Lecture on Totems» Opposite Contraries, pp. 194-195.

En atelier, elle approfondit le sujet à partir des croquis dessinés sur le motif et peint des toiles généralement petites, consacrées à un seul mât. Les quelques travaux intéressants conservés de cette période, tels Tanoo, Q.C.I. (1913) et Indian House Interior with Totems (v.1912-13), reflètent plus d'ambition. Dans Tanoo, Carr manifeste certains éléments de son style postimpressionniste, notamment une touche courte, picturale, et une palette de couleurs fauves. Elle commence également à manipuler la structure totémique dans le cadre du tableau pour accentuer l'effet dramatique, ramenant cette structure vers l'avant ou les côtés ou en coupant des parties. Malgré l'épaisse ligne de contour épaisse noire dont elle modèle les totems, ceux-ci présentent un remarquable détail. Ces œuvres de transition méritent qu'on s'y arrête, pour le désir évident de Carr de réconcilier l'impulsion documentaire et ses ambitions artistiques.

En 1913, elle loue le Drummond Hall à Vancouver pour y exposer près de 200 nouvelles toiles consacrées aux Premières nations. Mais le manque de soutien à son travail, tant financier que critique, la force à quitter son atelier vancouvérois. Elle redéménage à Victoria où elle compte bâtir une maison de chambres avec sa part de l'héritage familial. Son sentiment de rejet est aggravé lorsque le gouvernement provincial refuse de financer de nouveaux voyages vers les villages côtiers et d'acheter sa collection d'œuvres à ce jour pour leur valeur anthropologique. En effet, l'anthropologue consultant détermine que l'emploi d'une palette de couleurs fauves et la manipulation de la profondeur et de la perspective ne donnent pas une représentation exacte des villages de la côte1.

Les études totémiques réalisées par Carr durant cette période sont de qualité bien supérieure à celles produites avant ses études en France, mais elle ne réussit toujours pas à rendre la puissance des mâts et la complexité des sculptures animales et humaines. Même ses meilleurs travaux de l'époque paraissent plats et statiques en comparaison de ses toiles ultérieures. Il lui faudra attendre près de dix-sept années avant de reprendre ce thème. Elle aura alors enfin la confiance, l'habileté et l'intentionnalité nécessaires à la création d'œuvres audacieuses et puissantes.

1 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography, Toronto, Stoddart, 1994, p. 112.