Terms and Conditions

The Vancouver Art Gallery (the "Gallery") is pleased to be presenting this comprehensive multi-media website (the "Site") on the artist Emily Carr. Working in co-operation with the University of British Columbia's Computer Sciences department and the British Columbia Archives, close to 2000 images of Emily Car's work have been assembled from private and public collections.

Please take a moment to read through our Terms and Conditions that govern your access to this site.

1. Copyright

The images, texts, documentation, illustrations, designs, icons, software and all other content on this Site are protected by Canadian and international copyright laws. The content on the Site may be covered by other restrictions as well, including copyright and other proprietary rights held by third parties. The Gallery retains all rights, including copyright, in data, images, text and any other information contained in and on the Site. The Gallery expressly forbids the copying of any protected content on the Site, except for purposes of fair dealing, as defined by Canadian copyright law, and as described below.

2. Fair Dealing – Uses requiring no further permission

The materials on this Site are provided for browsing, viewing, downloading for limited non-commercial, educational and personal use only.

By downloading, printing or otherwise using text, images and files from the Site, users agree that they will limit their use of such files to fair dealing, and will not violate the Gallery's or any other party's proprietary rights. Materials used in this way must retain any associated copyright or other proprietary notices, and shall acknowledge its source. Digital manipulation or other modification of any of the content on the Site is expressly forbidden. All other uses other than provided for in this Notice are prohibited without written consent of the Gallery and, if applicable, any additional third party copyright holders. The Gallery does not warrant that use of materials from this site will not infringe the rights of third parties.

3. Uses where permission is required

Commercial publication, or any unauthorized exploitation or redistribution of the content contained herein is expressly prohibited without written permission from the Gallery and, where applicable, other institutions and third party rights holders.

Many of the images contained on this site are part of other institutions' collections, please contact the appropriate institution directly to obtain permission to reproduce. For permission to use images, text and other content from the Vancouver Art Gallery's collection and archives, please contact the Gallery's Rights and Reproductions Department.

Permission to use works in the collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery is granted on a case-by-case basis. It is the responsibility of the applicant to secure permission from third party rights holders.

Modalités

La Vancouver Art Gallery (ci-après la « Galerie ») est fière de présenter ce site Web multimédia détaillé (ci-après le « Site ») consacré à l'artiste Emily Carr. En collaboration avec le Département des sciences informatiques de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et avec les Archives de la Colombie-Britannique, près de 2 000 images de l'œuvre d'Emily Carr ont été assemblées ici à partir de collections privées et publiques.

Veuillez prendre un instant pour lire au complet nos Modalités qui régissent votre accès au Site.

1. Le droit d'auteur

Les images, les textes, les documents, les illustrations, les conceptions graphiques, les icônes, les logiciels et tous les autres contenus du présent Site sont protégés par les lois canadiennes et internationales en matière de droit d'auteur. Le contenu du Site peut également faire l'objet d'autres restrictions, notamment au sujet du droit d'auteur et des autres droits de propriété détenus par des tiers. La Galerie conserve tous les droits, y compris le droit d'auteur, sur les données, les images, les textes et autres renseignements contenus dans et sur le Site. La Galerie interdit formellement la copie de tout contenu protégé du Site, à l'exception des copies réalisées pour une utilisation équitable, comme le prévoit la Loi canadienne sur le droit a'auteur et tel qu'indiqué ci-dessous.

2. Utilisation équitable – Les utilisations sans autorisation supplémentaire

Les visiteurs peuvent parcourir, consulter, écouter et télécharger le matériel du Site à condition que ces utilisations soient uniquement à des fins non commerciales, pédagogiques et personnelles.

Le téléchargement, l'impression et autres utilisations des textes, images et fichiers du Site vous engagent à limiter l'emploi de ces fichiers à une utilisation équitable; ainsi, ces actions ne violent aucun droit de propriété de la Galerie ou d'un tiers. Le contenu utilisé doit conserver ses avis de droit d'auteur et de propriété ainsi que la mention de sa source. Les modifications numériques et autres du contenu du Site sont strictement interdites. Toute utilisation qui n'est pas mentionnée dans cet avis est formellement interdite sans l'autorisation écrite de la Galerie et, le cas échéant, de tout autre tiers titulaire d'un droit d'auteur. La Galerie ne garantit pas que l'utilisation du matériel du Site ne contreviendra pas aux droits de tiers.

3. Les utilisations avec autorisation supplémentaire

La publication commerciale et toute exploitation ou redistribution du contenu du Site sont formellement interdites sans l'autorisation écrite de la Galerie et, le cas échéant, des autres établissements et tiers titulaires de droits.

Bon nombre des images affichées sur ce site font partie des collections d'autres établissements – veuillez contacter directement l'établissement concerné pour obtenir la permission de les reproduire. Pour obtenir une autorisation d'utilisation d'images, de textes ou d'autre contenu appartenant à la collection et aux archives de la Vancouver Art Gallery, veuillez contacter le Rights and Reproductions Department de la Galerie.

L'autorisation d'utiliser ou non les œuvres de la collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery est accordée sur une base ponctuelle. C'est au demandeur qu'il incombe d'obtenir l'autorisation des tiers détenteurs de droits.